Americus Times-Recorder, Americus, Georgia

On Campus

November 12, 2012

SGTC’s newly elected club officers attend retreat

AMERICUS — South Georgia Technical College (SGTC) students elected into student club leadership positions had the opportunity to participate in a Student Leadership Retreat held at Phoebe Sumter Medical Center in Americus recently.

Presidents, vice presidents, secretaries, parliamentarians, reporters and historians of Student Leadership Council, Skills USA, Phi Beta Lambda, and National Technical Honor Society from the Americus and Cordele campuses met to learn the protocol of their positions and discuss ideas for club activities for the upcoming year.

The retreat began with a welcome and agenda review by Director of Career Services Cynthia Carter, followed by an installation ceremony, conducted by SGTC Assistant to the President Don Smith, in which candles were ceremoniously lighted for each of the leadership positions.

Following the installation ceremony, general education instructor Paul Farr presented the parliamentary procedure and Robert’s Rules of Order to the newly installed officers. The presentation was designed to give students an overview on how to conduct meetings in an orderly and efficient manner. Farr also discussed the purpose of conducting meetings; how to create an agenda; key terms such as chair, member, motion, and vote; and points of discussion.

Breakout sessions were held after lunch, in which students were able to learn more about their new responsibilities and were able to ask questions regarding their roles as officers in their respective student organizations.

After the breakout sessions, each club met for “plan of work” sessions to discuss the upcoming year’s plans.

The newly elected officers for the Student Leadership Council (SLC) on the Americus campus are LaShonda Durham of Americus, president; Steven Strickland of Box Springs, vice president; Amber Raybon of Americus, secretary/treasurer; and Taylor Stowe of Gainesville, parliamentarian/reporter.

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) officers for Americus are Craig Conley of Americus, president; vice presidents Lashondra Walton of Americus, Daphne Hadley of Montezuma,and Delisa Bowen of Americus; Amber Raybon of Americus, secretary/treasurer; Anita Walton of Americus, historian/reporter; and Drew Barrett of Americus, parliamentarian.

Newly elected officers for SkillsUSA on the Americus campus are Annie Vissage of Oglethorpe, president; Janice Pitts of Americus, vice president; W. Erin Jordan of Americus, secretary/treasurer; and Sara Rohan of Americus, reporter/parliamentarian.

Officers for the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) on the Americus campus are Jared Hampe of Americus, president; Julia Sims of Americus, vice president; Amber Raybon of Americus, secretary; and Annie Streeter of Americus, treasurer.

Text Only
On Campus
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Weather Radar