GSW’s Euson and McCollum continue to receive postseason accolades

Published 1:50 pm Friday, May 24, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Keith Michlig, GSW Associate Director of Athletics for Communications and Marketing


AMERICUS – The Georgia Southwestern State University baseball team placed two players on the 2024 All-Southeast Region teams released Thursday afternoon by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA). Starting pitcher Rijnaldo Eusion was a first team selection and starting pitcher Nick McCollum received second team honors.

Euson, a redshirt-junior from Haines City, FL, posted a 7-2 record this spring with a 2.87 earned run average over 84 2/3 innings. He held opponents to a .205 batting average. Euson ranked fourth in NCAA Division II with 105 strikeouts and was named the 2024 Peach Belt Conference Pitcher of the Year. He received second team all-region recognition last spring from the D2CCA and last week was named first team all-region by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

McCollum, a senior from Richmond Hill, GA, had a 7-1 record this spring. He threw 94 2/3 innings and held opponents .245 batting average. McCollum’s 110 strikeouts led NCAA Division II in 2024 and his strikeout-to-walk ratio of 6.11 ranked 12th. He was a first team All-PBC selection in 2024 and the league’s pitcher of the year in 2023. McCollum was a first team selection of the D2CCA last spring and he’s a two-time all-region honoree of the NCBWA. He is GSW’s all-time leader during the program’s NCAA DII era in wins, shutouts and strikeouts.

2024 D2CCA All-Southeast Region Teams

First Team

P – Zachary Murray – Young Harris
P – Payne Stolsworth – Catawba
P – Rijnaldo Euson – Georgia Southwestern
P – Reece Fields – North Greenville
C – Jack Enrico – Young Harris
1B – David Lewis – North Greenville
2B – Cam Harris – Wingate
3B – Matthew Mebane – Georgia College & State
SS – Ethan Wilder – Lander
OF – Carson Boles – Lincoln Memorial
OF – Sean Barnett – Wingate
OF – Brandon Bellflower – Georgia College & State
DH – Joey Rezek – UNC Pembroke
UT/P – Cole Hales – Catawba
UT – Gabriel Wuerth – Georgia College & State

Player of the Year – Carson Boles – Lincoln Memorial
Pitcher of the Year – Zachary Murray – Young Harris

Second Team

P – John Luke Glanton – Georgia College & State
P – Jonathan Jacobs – UNC Pembroke
P – Nick McCollum – Georgia Southwestern
P -Erik Johnson – Mount Olive
C – Bo Rusher III – Catawba
1B – Brett Adams – Wingate
2B – Josean Sanchez – Erskine
3B – Kasten Harvey – Lincoln Memorial
SS – Levi Perrell – Catawba
OF – Donovan Ford – Newberry
OF – Kody O’Connor – UNC Pembroke
OF – Michael Dolberry II – UNC Pembroke
DH – Connor Droze – Lander
UT/P – Grif Hughes – Carson-Newman
UT – Connor Tucker – Belmont Abbey