Municipalities to hold elections

Published 2:29 pm Thursday, September 10, 2015


AMERICUS — At least three municipalities in Sumter County will vote on their local leadership on Nov. 3, and another in a special election on Sept. 15.
According to Sumter County Elections Superintendent Robert Brady, qualifying ended Friday.
In Americus, Council members Juanita Wilson, District 1, and Nelson Brown, District 2 are unopposed.
A race has developed for the District 6 seat held by veteran Council member Walton Grant, who is not seeking reelection. Daryl R. Dowdell and Robert C. Ingle Sr. both qualified.
In Andersonville Mayor Marvin Baugh is unopposed as are incumbents Chris Hobbs, District 2, and Susan Brenner, Post 3.
In Plains, three incumbent Council members are unopposed: Wade Medlock. Post 3; Jill Stuckey, Post 4; and A.B. Jackson, Post 5.
In the City of Leslie, there are no contested races. George Bagley qualified for mayor, and the following qualified for seats on City Council: Diana Roberts, Clint Ledger, Jane Butler and Linda Cobb.
The City of DeSoto holds a special election on Sept. 15. Incumbent Mayor Dennis Billings is seeking reelection. James D. Cutts also qualified to run for mayor.
Incumbent Council members Jake Reese Jr. and Bessie Foster qualified to seek reelection. Danielle Myers Bateman also qualified. The two candidates receiving the most votes will take the two at-large seats.