82 GSW student-athletes named to PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Published 10:23 am Monday, July 10, 2017


AMERICUS – Georgia Southwestern State University placed 82 student-athletes on the 2016-17 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll released Tuesday by the league office. It marks the third consecutive year with 80 or more honorees for Georgia Southwestern and is two shy of the school record of 84 set last year.
The GSW baseball program placed the largest number of student-athletes on the list with 17. Men’s soccer was one shy of the leader with 16 honorees.
The women’s cross country team led all GSW programs with the highest percentage of its roster (77.78 percent) on the Presidential Honor Roll. The Lady ‘Canes softball team wasn’t far behind with 73.33 percent of team members on the Presidential Honor Roll. The GSW women’s soccer and men’s tennis teams both had 66.67 percent of team members placed on the Presidential Honor Roll while 57.14 percent of the men’s soccer team received the honor.
The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 14 Peach Belt member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. It was announced Tuesday that a record-breaking 1,719 student-athletes had earned the recognition.
The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00.
Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2016-17 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:
Gold Scholars [18]: Mikela Barlow (Softball), Mercedes Benites (Women’s Soccer), Jessica Bingham (Women’s Soccer), Mary Catharine Calcutt (Women’s Cross Country), Celia del Castillo (Women’s Tennis), Ashley Denby (Women’s Tennis), Manuel Duran (Men’s Soccer), Michelle Gustavsen (Women’s Soccer), Jacob Harrell (Baseball), Mitch Holloway (Baseball), Joel Landis (Men’s Tennis), Kristin McDonald (Women’s Soccer), Beau Millwood (Men’s Tennis), Silvio Polly (Men’s Soccer), Graysen Sanders (Softball), Sabrina Sieber (Softball), Colby Smith (Men’s Soccer), Josh Swift (Men’s Soccer).
Silver Scholars [20]:  John Clark Auer (Men’s Soccer), Ellie Cook (Women’s Soccer), Neeli Fortson (Women’s Cross Country), Fraser Johnston (Men’s Golf), Anneliese Leahy (Women’s Tennis), Connie Lewis (Women’s Cross Country), Josh Logan (Baseball), Juan Morales (Men’s Soccer), Will Redding (Baseball), Sholeh Rezaee (Women’s Soccer), Kenesha Roberts (Women’s Soccer), Savannah Ross (Women’s Cross Country), Julian Rugel (Men’s Soccer), Kaily Short (Women’s Soccer), Kaley Sikes (Softball), Emily Smith (Softball), Kyle Spinks (Baseball), Nick Ward (Men’s Golf), Haley West (Women’s Soccer), Whitney Young (Women’s Basketball).
Bronze Scholars [22]: Brennan Bauschka (Men’s Soccer), Brittany Childs (Softball), Kole Clark (Baseball), Kendall Crew (Women’s Tennis), Rebekah Davis (Softball), Allee Denney (Softball), Shannon Gibson (Softball), Avery Heid (Women’s Soccer), Bradley Hough (Baseball), Matt Hubbard (Baseball), Lucas Kimmel (Men’s Soccer), Kwantesha Love (Women’s Basketball), Oliver Marshall (Men’s Tennis), Johnathon Martin (Men’s Tennis), Katherine McGarr (Women’s Cross Country), Daniel Mendsen (Men’s Soccer), Courtney Ostrus (Women’s Soccer), Drew Powers (Baseball), Bri Reda (Women’s Soccer), Lauren Resnick (Women’s Tennis), Uriel Rodriguez (Men’s Soccer), Jonathan Sayers (Men’s Soccer).
Presidential Scholars [22]: Chad Adkins (Baseball), Evan Alderman (Baseball), Christopher Avery (Men’s Soccer), Isaac Avila (Men’s Soccer), Tyler Barker (Men’s Golf), Kristen Beckham (Women’s Basketball), Kya Cochran (Women’s Basketball), Elyse Gowan (Women’s Soccer), Ella Hawkins (Women’s Soccer & Softball), Jared Jones (Baseball), Zach Jones (Baseball), Alex Kranick (Baseball), Dakota Long (Baseball), Shane Madray (Men’s Soccer), Jonathan Martin (Baseball), Brooks McDonel (Baseball), Morgan Cambron-Miller (Women’s Cross Country), Ashleigh Owens (Women’s Cross Country), Justin Ralston (Men’s Tennis), Byron Robley (Men’s Tennis), Hayley Tierce (Softball), Caleb Zolman (Men’s Soccer).