Mattye Gordan to represent Taylor on SGTC board

Published 11:14 am Monday, November 27, 2017

AMERICUS —  The South Georgia Technical College (SGTC) board of directors welcomed one new member and said goodbye to another member as its October meeting recently.
Mattye Gordon of Taylor County was welcomed as the newest member of the SGTC board of directors and James E. (Jem) Morris of Sumter County resigned his position on the board. Morris is resigning due to relocation with his employer, Georgia Power.
Gordon has been serving as the Taylor County representative on the Southern Crescent Technical College Board but once the Technical College System of Georgia added Taylor County to the SGTC service delivery area, SGTC President John Watford asked Gordon to join the SGTC board to represent Taylor County.
“On behalf of the board and everyone at South Georgia Technical College, I would like to welcome you to the South Georgia Technical College board of directors,” said Chairman Richard McCorkle of Marion County.  “I am sure that I speak for Dr. Watford and the entire board when I say that we are looking forward to serving with you and getting to know you better.”
The SGTC board of directors now includes: Chairman McCorkle, James Davis of Macon County, Jake Everett of Webster County and Janet Siders and George Bryce from Sumter County as well as Mattie Gordon of Taylor County.  Willie Patrick from Cordele retired recently.