Rebecca Nelson selected as one of the Top 10 Educators

Published 3:19 pm Monday, March 26, 2018

ATLANTA — Claes Nobel, senior member of the family that established the Nobel Prize and Chairman of The National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS), announced the Claes Nobel Educators of the Year on Saturday, December 2, 2017, at The Cobb Galleria in Atlanta, Georgia.
The Educator of the Year Award recognizes ten exemplary educators who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to preparing students for success. These ten educators  are all members of the Claes Nobel Educators of Distinction program. Since the inception of the Educators of Distinction program in 2004, NSHSS has recognized more than 40,000 educators worldwide.
“I am very proud to honor these ten outstanding educators who have continuously encouraged students to strive for excellence,” Mr. Nobel said. “These educators serve as remarkable role models in their schools and communities, and uphold the NSHSS mission of helping to advance the goals and aspirations of their students.”
Rebecca Nelson, a Top Ten 2017 Claes Nobel Educator of the Year, is an Advanced Placement English teacher at Oswego East High School in Oswego, Illinois. According to Mrs. Nelson, “each student can be engaged to learn when provided a variety of experiential learning, and [the] goal is to allow students to find their intrinsic motivation to learn.” The principal of Oswego East High School explains, “In each of her roles I have observed Mrs. Nelson tackle every task put before her with grace, tact, a ‘can-do’ attitude, and a consciousness of the needs of others.” Mrs. Nelson’s nominating student adds, “Mrs. Nelson has not only helped my grow in how I learn and study, but she has also helped me grow as a person. I have never wanted to be at school more than when I was in her class. She is an amazing teacher and leader and I appreciate all she does.”
The Top Ten 2017 Claes Nobel Educators of the Year are:
Joyce Kim, Honors English Teacher
Prospect High School, Mount Prospect, IL
Thelvie Cullins, Jr., AP Calculus Teacher
School for the Talented and Gifted at Townview Magnet Center, Dallas, TX
Kelly Eddy, AP U.S. History Teacher
Churchill High School, Livonia, MI
Bob Fenster, AP Social Studies Teacher
Hillsborough High School, Hillsborough, NJ
McKenzie Lueders, Honors Chemistry Teacher
Dodge City High School, Dodge City, KS
Jo-Ann McCauley, AP French Language and Culture Teacher; Department Chair
Wesleyan School, Norcross, GA
Rebecca Nelson, AP English Teacher
Oswego East High School, Oswego, IL
Tad Sours, AP History Teacher
Haas Hall Academy – Fayetteville, Fayetteville, AR
Cate Praggastis, AVID Program Coordinator
East High School, Salt Lake City, UT
Christopher Wendelin, AP English Teacher
Amos Alonzo Stagg High School, Palos Hills, IL