Avionics student awarded SGTC Americus Student of Excellence Award

Published 10:26 am Wednesday, May 15, 2019

From Staff Reports

AMERICUS — South Georgia Technical College’s (SGTC) Americus campus held its final Student of Excellence ceremony of the semester recently, where they named Colyn Johnson of Nicholls as the overall winner.

The avionics student, who is set to graduate next semester, received the recognition over six other nominees who were all in the transportation programs division. The ceremony was held in the John M. Pope Center in front of a room full of students, instructors, and family members of the nominees.

Johnson was nominated for the award by his instructor, Charles Christmas, who introduced him to the audience.

During his introduction, Christmas noted that Johnson will graduate in October with both his avionics and aviation maintenance diplomas. Additionally, he spoke about how Johnson is a member of the National Technical Honor Society and participates in the SkillsUSA — the latter of which he recently competed in and won a silver medal at the state level.

“It’s been an honor and a privilege since day one to see where he started, and now where he’s at today,” Christmas said before presenting him with a nomination certificate.

After receiving his nomination, Johnson thanked his family, classmates, instructors, and Souther Field Aviation for all of their continued help and support throughout his time as a student.

Following speeches from the other nominees and their instructors, Johnson was announced as the winner and awarded with a commemorative plaque and a monetary reward. Additionally, his name will be displayed on SGTC’s digital marquee as well as inscribed on a plaque in Hicks Hall among previous Student of Excellence winners. Each nominee was awarded with a nomination certificate and an exclusive student of excellence t-shirt.

The student of excellence is selected based on a number of criteria, including grades, work ethics, participation in clubs and organizations, and amount of program completion.

The ceremony recognized the top students from each area of the transportation programs, which included: Kelvin Fowler of Oglethorpe, aircraft structural technology; Christopher Gaston of Douglasville, aircraft maintenance technology; Christopher Waller of Buena Vista, a dually enrolled automotive technology student; Trabian West of Americus, auto collision technology; Justin Parker of Oglethorpe, diesel power equipment; and Stanley Dewberry of Smithville, motorsports vehicle technology.

Each month, students from the represented divisions are nominated for the Student of Excellence award by their instructors. In addition to Charles Christmas, the other nominating instructors included: Jason Wisham, aircraft structural technology; David Grant, aircraft maintenance technology; Brandon Dean, automotive technology; Starlyn Sampson, auto collision technology; Chase Shannon, diesel power equipment; and Kevin Beaver, motorsports vehicle technology.