Sumter EMC holds 81st annual meeting

Published 10:40 am Wednesday, June 19, 2019

AMERICUS — Sumter Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) held its 81st annual meeting of members on June 15 at South Georgia Technical College in Americus. Members and guests were entertained by country music artist Brandon Wheeler and special guest Mike English.  Following the recognition of special guests, U.S, Congressman Sanford Bishop, D-Albany, updated the members on federal legislative issues that affect the daily lives of rural Georgians, which included the most recent Disaster Relief Legislation.

President/CEO Ted McMillan focused on one of the strongest attributes of the electric cooperative system, the commitment of EMCs to help each other during storms. This attribute was on full display when over 400 additional linemen came to our rescue when Hurricane Michael left its mark on Southwest Georgia.  It was the largest storm damage in the history of Sumter EMC. With 240 broken poles, 15 of the cooperative’s 23 substations were without power, thus resulting in 19,000 Sumter EMC members being without power.

McMillan mentioned the continued diversification of the cooperative’s electric generation options, including additional utility scale solar resources purchased through Green Power EMC. He touched on changes that technological advances in the areas of electric vehicles are bringing. Tax credits and the appeal of reducing emissions for the environment are playing a big role in more and more electric vehicles being on the road. McMillan reminded members that Sumter EMC offers a rebate for members who choose to install a Level 2 (240 volt) electric vehicle charger in their home.

McMillan dedicated the Annual Report in honor of retired director Troy Tillman Ammons Jr., who represented Stewart County for 23 years until his death in January 2018. Ammons was the first Sumter EMC director to earn the prestigious Credentialed Cooperative Director certification from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association. McMillan closed by thanking state and federal legislators for their ongoing support of issues impacting rural Georgians.

Secretary-Treasurer Michael D. Webb reported that Sumter EMC experienced another successful year in 2018. The Cooperative’s books are audited annually. The 2018 audit was conducted by the certified public accounting firm, McNair, McLemore, Middlebrooks & Co., LLC. The audit is on file at the Cooperative’s office. During the 2018 year, a total of $598,800 was refunded to the estates of deceased patrons. See the 2018 Annual Report for additional details.

The Rev. Jack D. Ray, chairman of the 2019 Nominating Committee, presented three nominees for election: Dr. Cecil O. Myers, Sumter County; David A. Barrett, Stewart/Quitman counties; and Bob Jernigan, Marion County. The membership elected the three nominees, as presented, to serve for a three-year term.

Following the annual meeting, a special meeting of the Board of Directors was held to elect officers for the 2019-2020 year. Bob Jernigan was elected chairman; Dr. Cecil O. Myers as vice chairman; Michael D. Webb as secretary-treasurer and William E. Harris as assistant secretary.

Andrea Walker, vice president, Marketing and Administration, at right, presented Susan Johnson with the second prize, a $500 Sumter EMC electric service gift certificate.

Chairman Jernigan presented Linda Joyce Battle with the grand prize, a $1,000 Sumter EMC electric service gift certificate. Andrea Walker, vice president, Marketing and Administration, presented Susan Johnson with the second prize, a $500 Sumter EMC electric service gift certificate. Richard Munns won the special drawing for a television, and Eric Brock won the Operation RoundUp® prize. A total of 367 Sumter EMC members were in attendance.