GSW reaches new milestone on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Published 5:38 pm Monday, July 1, 2019

From Staff Reports


AMERICUS – Georgia Southwestern State University placed 101 student-athletes on the 2018-19 Peach Belt Conference (PBC) Presidential Honor Roll. The PBC office released the PBC Honor Roll on Thursday, June 27. According to the GSW’s athletic department, the Hurricanes have increased their annual total of student-athletes on the PBC Presidential Honor Roll by 77 percent over the last 10 years.

“We are extremely proud of these student-athletes,” GSW Associate Director of Athletics Christie Ward said. “They spend countless hours practicing, lifting weights, studying film, travel and competing on campus and around the southeast. They juggle a lot more than the average student.”

Ward went on to say that it’s truly amazing to have this many student-athletes not only give their best on the field and court, but to also excel in the classroom.

The GSW baseball program had the largest number of student-athletes on the list with 24, which was three more than their department-leading total from last year. Men’s Soccer was eight shy of baseball with 16 honorees.

The women’s tennis team led all GSW sports with the highest percentage of its roster on the Presidential Honor Roll. All seven members of the team made the honor roll and five of them were named Gold Scholars.

The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 12 PBC schools who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. It was announced on Thursday, June 27, that 1,517 student-athletes had earned this recognition.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA ranging from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars, while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49. To be a Silver Scholar, a student-athlete must have a GPA anywhere from 3.50 to 3.74. Gold Scholars are student-athletes with a GPA ranging from 3.75 to 4.0.

A department record was set this year as 24 GSW student-athletes earned Gold Scholar recognition. GSW had seven student-athletes reach the top level during the 2007-08 academic year.

According to the university’s athletic website,, here is the complete list of GSW student-athletes who made the 2018-19 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:


GSW freshman infielder Matthew Mamatas was one of 24 GSW student-athletes to be named to the Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll as a Gold Scholar.
ATR Archive

Gold Scholars [24]: Matthew Mamatas (Baseball), Tucker Smith (Baseball), Tyler Summerall (Baseball), Jamison Wilks (Baseball), Wil Hernandez (Men’s Golf), Katherine McGarr (Women’s Cross Country), Chris Avery (Men’s Soccer), Francesco Bazzano (Men’s Soccer), Manuel Duran (Men’s Soccer), Thiago Elias (Men’s Soccer), Andres Labrada (Men’s Soccer), Julian Rugel (Men’s Soccer), Eduarda Giusti (Women’s Soccer), Alison Rugel (Women’s Soccer), Jennifer Jernigan (Softball), Madason Messer (Softball), Autumn Tripp (Softball), Kenneth Limyadi (Men’s Tennis), Charli Allen (Women’s Tennis), Kendall Crew (Women’s Tennis), Celia del Castillo (Women’s Tennis), Hannah Hogg (Women’s Tennis), Alex Rhodes (Women’s Tennis).


Silver Scholars [30]: Jeremiah Barnett (Baseball), Cole Garrett (Baseball), Jacob Harrell (Baseball), Hayden Martin (Baseball), Matthew Snider (Baseball), Elias Birkeland (Men’s Golf), Kya Cochran (Women’s Basketball), Kayla Smith (Women’s Basketball), Connie Lewis (Women’s Cross Country), Pedro Chung (Men’s Soccer), Rafael Faria (Men’s Soccer), Zahmyre Harris (Men’s Soccer), Adam Jackson (Men’s Soccer), Jonathan Sayers (Men’s Soccer), Geraldine Alvarez (Women’s Soccer), Ashlyn Baker (Women’s Soccer), Rachel Cochran (Women’s Soccer), Michelle Gustavsen (Women’s Soccer), Leila Hamed (Women’s Soccer), Shelbie Mills (Women’s Soccer), Cassidy Burton (Softball), Kaylynn Church (Softball), Shannon Gibson (Softball), Allyson Murdock (Softball), Hayley Tierce (Softball), Chloe Zoeller (Softball), Alex Canovas (Men’s Tennis), Kyle Eason (Men’s Tennis), Bryce McGuire (Men’s Tennis), Beau Millwood (Men’s Tennis).


Bronze Scholars [18]: Jason Baita (Baseball), Jared Donalson (Baseball), Bradley Hough (Baseball), Jonathan Martin (Baseball), Grace Regan (Women’s Cross Country), Retchiel Roble (Women’s Cross Country), Dylan Marshall (Men’s Soccer), Divin Moke (Men’s Soccer), Matthew Sherry (Men’s Soccer), Caleb Zolman (Men’s Soccer), Alisa Barr (Women’s Soccer), Haley Griffin (Softball), Kayla Rowell (Softball), Christina Wells (Softball), Matthew Limyadi (Men’s Tennis), Shawn Lunde (Men’s Tennis), Maria Taboada (Women’s Tennis), Sophia Winters (Women’s Tennis).


Presidential Scholars [29]: Guy Anderberg (Baseball), Jakob Brown (Baseball), Kole Clark (Baseball), Mark Felton (Baseball), Hunter Foster (Baseball), Andy Moore (Baseball), Peyton Sells (Baseball), Devin Shea (Baseball), John Sutton (Baseball), Miguel Urbina (Baseball), Ryan Cahill (Men’s Golf), Simon Estrada (Men’s Golf), Vincent Norrman (Men’s Golf), Devin Watson (Men’s Basketball), Kris Beckham (Women’s Basketball), Tyra Smith (Women’s Basketball), Morgan Towells (Women’s Basketball), Kierra York (Women’s Basketball), Alex Exum (Women’s Cross Country), Shane Madray (Men’s Soccer), Liz Cervantes (Women’s Soccer), Emily Collum (Women’s Soccer), Ella Hawkins (Women’s Soccer), Avery Heid (Women’s Soccer), Victoria Moore (Women’s Soccer), Ansley Dean (Softball), Mackenzy McFarland (Softball), Aimee Oglesby (Softball), Nacho Garcia de Sola (Men’s Tennis).