Nearly 400 incoming freshmen begin classes at Georgia Southwestern

Published 12:11 pm Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

AMERICUS —  Just under 400 incoming freshmen have begun classes at Georgia Southwestern State University (GSW) in GSW’s Class of 2023.

At the recent Freshman Convocation, each student was given a silver coin by GSW President Neal Weaver to signify the beginning of their GSW journey. Upon graduation, they’ll receive a gold coin in its place, giving the silver coin to someone who made a difference for them during their time at GSW.

The Class of 2023 is the first class to bring in more than 200 students with the new Southwestern Promise scholarship available to Georgia freshmen. The scholarship program, established in Hurricane Michael’s aftermath, automatically guaranteed scholarships of either $1,000 or $2,000 to beginning freshmen who live in a 56-county region of Southwest Georgia. Students living outside the 56-county area were also eligible to receive the scholarship upon application.

GSW is looking forward to watching these students take their first year by storm!

Those receiving the scholarships, from the local area, include Brahe Ashton of Americus, Ansle Barker of Montezuma, Brian Barnhill of Ellaville, Charleshia Battle of Americus, Jeremy Battle of Ellaville, Serenity Bess of Americus, Destinee Bridges of Americus. Matthew Cannon of Smithville. Nadia Carrasco of Preston, Katie Carver of Americus,

Tracy Choppla of Montezuma, Jamyron Clayton of Ellaville, Tyquetta Clemons of Americus, Jacob Cole of Montezuma, Bentley Cook of Americus, Christopher Courson of Smithville, Dana Crawford of Oglethorpe, Sebastian Da Silva of Americus, Leila Dalva of Americus, Jaylan Davis of Americus,

Ruth-Louise Davis of Americus, Cole Davison of Americus, Hannah Dew of Ellaville, Nathaniel English of Andersonville, Sydney Espino of Americus, Ashleigh Estes of Americus, Matthew Evans of Americus, William Evans of Americus, Zachary Faircloth of Americus. Daylon Flietner of Ellaville,

Sara Greene of Ellaville, Noah Hammons of Americus, Hannah Harbage of Marshallville, Katelyn High of Americus, Ayani Hughes of Americus, Justin Inthiraj of Ellaville, Logan Johnson of Oglethorpe. Bradley Kitchens of Americus, Jimin Lee of Americus,

Jordan Long of Americus, Michael Matthews of Weston, Rylie McIlrath of Ellaville, Eric Monts of Americus, Montavious Nedd of Americus, Joseph Powell of Montezuma, Brinson Presley of Cobb. Daniel Reese of Americus. Marisa Register of Ellaville, Rudy Reyes of Plains,

John Robinson of Ellaville, Quincey Robinson of Americus, Keri Russell of Americus, Vianna Salazar of Americus, Gavin Shook of Smithville, Genesis Singletary of Montezuma, Chandler Studdard of Americus, Frederic Updike of Americus, Haley Walker of Preston, Robert Wall of Ellaville,

Jillian Westbury of Plains, Candice Wiggins of Ellaville, Michael Wilson of Ellaville, and Kristin Wooden of Andersonville.