GSW women’s softball team gets six players named to PBC Team of Academic Distinction

Published 4:44 pm Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

From Staff Reports



AMERICUS – The Georgia Southwestern State University women’s softball program recently earned a tremendous honor, as six members of the 2020 team were named to the Peach Belt Conference Team of Academic Distinction.

The players who earned this prestigious honor are senior Jennifer Jernigan, sophomore Allyson Murdock, senior Shannon Gibson, sophomore Christina Wells, junior Chloe Zoeller and senior Tanner Robertson.

Jernigan is a Management major from Waycross, GA and holds a 3.688 GPA. She is followed by Murdock, a native of Debrary, FL, who holds a 3.625 GPA as an Exercise Science major. Gibson holds the next highest GPA at 3.60 and is a senior from Colborne, Ontario. Wells, a sophomore Management major from Apopka, FL, has the next highest GPA at 3.494. Chloe Zoeller, a junior Nursing major from Flowery Branch, GA, holds a 3.432 GPA, while Robertson, a senior Exercise Science major from Huntsville, AL, holds a GPA of 3.308.

The Peach Belt Conference (PBC) has announced the 2020 Softball Team of Academic Distinction, which was formerly known as the All-Academic team. It is part of a season-long program recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of PBC student-athletes in the classroom, as well as on the field.

To be eligible for the team, a student-athlete must participate in at least half of his/her team’s events and be either a starter or significant contributor. They must also achieve a 3.30 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale and complete at least one full academic year at his or her current institution and reach sophomore athletic eligibility. The Peach Belt Conference Sports Information Directors oversee the program. Players named to the teams are based on grades through the fall 2019 semester.