Reeves family honors South Georgia Tech’s 2024 Outstanding Instructor of Year, Dr. Michele Seay

Published 2:13 pm Friday, January 12, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Su Ann Bird


AMERICUS – South Georgia Technical College President Emeritus Sparky Reeves and his wife, Allene, established an endowed fund with the South Georgia Technical College Foundation to honor the college’s Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year annually.  Dr. Michele Williams Seay, SGTC’s psychology instructor, was the recipient for 2024.

Allene Reeves and her son, Kevin Reeves, made the presentation to Dr. Seay at the SGTC 2024 Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year breakfast recently in front of the SGTC faculty and staff.

“South Georgia Technical College is a special place and it is filled with people who do special things for this community,” said Kevin Reeves.  “Family is very important to both of my parents and South Georgia Tech has been a big part of our family since I was born.  My dad dedicated his career to South Georgia Tech.  Both mom and dad were educators so they realize how important you are to this community.  Dad believed in investing in people and giving them the tools to do their jobs, so this scholarship is his and mom’s way of giving back.

“Congratulations Dr. Seay and thank you for what you do for the students and this community.  Now you are awesome part of mom and dad’s legacy of investing in the future of this community,” added Reeves.

Following those comments, Allene Reeves presented Dr. Seay with a check on behalf of the Sparky and Allene Reeves Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year fund for being the 2024 Instructor of the Year.

Dr. Seay is the ninth recipient of the Sparky and Allene Reeves Instructor of the Year stipend.  Andrea Ingram, a Computer Information Systems Instructor, was the first recipient of the award in 2016 and Charles Christmas, an Aviation Maintenance Instructor, was selected in 2017.  Teresa McCook, the Americus campus Criminal Justice Instructor, received the award in 2018, Law Enforcement Academy Director Brett Murray was recognized in 2019, Cosmetology Instructor Dorothea Lusane McKenzie earned the honor in 2020 and Culinary Arts Instructor Chef “Ricky” Ludwig Watzlowick was named in 2021.  Starlyn Sampson, auto collision and repair instructor, received the award in 2022 and Chester Taylor, math instructor, was the recipient in 2023.

President Emeritus Reeves and Allene endowed this special fund with the South Georgia Technical College Foundation in 2010 and have been growing the fund for the past thirteen years in order to be able to recognize and honor the outstanding instructor and top student at South Georgia Technical College each year.

“This is a tremendous honor for us to be able to give back to the best of the best each year,” said South Georgia Technical College President Emeritus Sparky Reeves when he endowed the fund. “Students may be the lifeblood of South Georgia Technical College but our instructors are the heartbeat.  We are thrilled to be able to give back to our top instructor and our top student each year.”

Reeves joined the South Georgia Technical College faculty in 1973 as an Accounting, Math, and Business Psychology Instructor.  In addition to teaching, he also served as a Supervisor, Evening Coordinator, Vice President of Economic Development and President.  He retired in 2015. He passed away in 2023.

After accepting the stipend from the Reeves’, Dr. Seay thanked the Reeves and her co-workers.  “I am very grateful to be selected as the Instructor of the Year,” said Dr. Seay.  “I appreciate your support of this program and the instructors.  I will do my best to make you and South Georgia Technical College proud.”

Dr. Seay will represent South Georgia Technical College at regional and state competitions in an effort to be selected as the top instructor within the Technical College System of Georgia.

“On behalf of South Georgia Technical College, I would like to thank the Reeves’ family for their continued support of South Georgia Technical College, its instructors and its students,” said SGTC President Dr. John Watford.  “South Georgia Technical College has a legacy and Sparky and Allene Reeves embody that legacy.  They have been special to South Georgia Tech for many years and today they demonstrated again why they mean so much to the college, its faculty, staff, and students,” added Watford.

SGTC Academic Dean David Finley spearheaded the Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year efforts, and thanked Dr. Seay for her service to the college.  Academic Dean and former SGTC English instructor Katrice Martin introduced Dr. Seay and gave a list of her accomplishments.

For more information about how to donate or establish an endowed scholarship at South Georgia Technical College, contact Su Ann Bird, SGTC Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Foundation Executive Director at 229-931-2011 or  Tax deductible donations may also be mailed to the SGTC Foundation, P.O. Box 6102, Americus GA 31709.