GSW’s Alexander earns ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Award

Published 2:27 pm Monday, June 24, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Keith Michlig

Georgia Southwestern State University catcher Kalvin Alexander has been named one of nine NCAA Division II recipients of a 2024 American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings Gold Glove Award. In addition, Alexander was named to the 2024 ABCA NCAA Division II All-Defensive Team for the Southeast Region.

Alexander, a redshirt-junior from Lakeland, FL, started 36 games behind the plate this spring in his second season with the Hurricanes. He did not commit an error with 377 total chances, made 39 assists and threw out 19 runners attempting to steal. His caught stealing percentage was 36.5 percent, which would rank second among the career numbers of all active Major League Baseball catchers according to Alexander becomes GSW’s second Gold Glove Award winner. The Hurricanes have had a recipient in each of the past two seasons.

The 2024 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were released by ABCA and Rawlings Sporting Goods in all eight divisions of collegiate baseball and high school. A Gold Glove Award is presented to nine players at each level with each representing a defensive position on the field. Alexander is the NCAA Division II catcher award recipient. The Rawlings Gold Glove winners have been selected since 2007 in the collegiate and high school ranks, featuring many future Major League Baseball players.

The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are selected by ABCA coaches committees at each level: NCAA Division I, II & III, NAIA, NJCAA Division I, II & III, Pacific Association Division, and High School.

The ABCA/Rawlings Award Program is one of the most comprehensive in all of sports, awarding All-America teams and Gold Glove teams in nine divisions of amateur baseball as well as All-Region teams in five divisions.

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams date back to 1949, starting with one collegiate All-America Team. Other divisions subsequently added until the current total of nine was reached. The first ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were recognized in 2007, making this the 17th year the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards have been presented in the collegiate and high school ranks (no awards were presented in 2020 due to COVID-19).

Founded in 1945, the American Baseball Coaches Association is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 15,000 members represent all 50 states and 40 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School, Youth and Travel.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

SEE ALSO: 2024 ABCA/Rawlings All-Region and All-America Teams


2024 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II Gold Glove Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Kalvin Alexander Jr. Georgia Southwestern GA
1B Braeden Smith Fr. Georgia College & State GA
2B Emilio Barrera Jr. Cal State Dominguez Hills CA
3B Mikey Kocen Jr. Lewis IL
SS Henry Kusiak Sr. Missouri Southern State MO
OF El’Rico Riley Sr. Florida Southern FL
OF Shawn Dougherty Sr. Lynn FL
OF Dylan Driver Jr. Catawba NC
P Skylar Gonzalez Sr. Tampa FL