Dr. Douglas Joyner named 2016 Phoebe Physician of the Year

Published 10:00 pm Wednesday, May 25, 2016

ALBANY — Douglas Joyner, MD, was honored recently as the 2016 Phoebe Physician of the Year. The award honors a physician who exemplifies a compassionate commitment to improving the health and well-being of the communities they serve. A general surgeon at Phoebe Sumter Medical Center, Joyner has practiced in the Americus area for more than 25 years.
“Dr. Joyner is an exceptional general surgeon, and we are proud to honor him for his continued commitment,” said Suresh Lakhanpal, MD, president of Phoebe Physician Group. “He embodies everything a patient and colleague should expect from a physician — making him an invaluable member of the Phoebe Family.”
Numerous nominations cited Joyner for his compassion and dedication. One nomination stated, “He sets a standard that all of his fellow surgeons aspire to. He is as dedicated today as when he first began his career.”
Joyner is known among his staff and patients to go above and beyond his duties to provide high quality, personalized care — making each patient feel as if they are his only one. According to one nomination from a patient who needed emergency surgery, “At all times, Dr. Joyner exemplified a genuine care and concern for me. He epitomizes the highest standards and practices of the medical profession.”
Joyner graduated from medical school in 1977, and then completed his residency in general surgery at Brook Army Medical Center in San Antonio, Texas. Following his decision to leave the Army, he moved to Americus, Ga., where he has been a surgeon since 1988.
Over his career in Americus, he has served as Chief of Surgery (1990-1992) and Chief of Staff (1995-1997). He has also served as Chief of Surgery at nearby Flint River Hospital in Montezuma where, in addition to Cuthbert and Fitzgerald, he travels weekly to see patients.
Joyner is the second recipient of Phoebe’s Physician of the Year award for providers employed by Phoebe Physician Group. Recipients are chosen by a committee from nominations made by patients, community members, and fellow employees throughout the health system. This year more than 130 nominations were submitted.