Sen. Greg Kirk appointed co-chair, COPS Task Force

Published 9:00 am Monday, June 19, 2017

ATLANTA  — Sen. Greg Kirk, R-Americus, was recently appointed by Lt. Governor Casey Cagle to serve as co-chair of the Compensation of Police and Sheriffs (COPS) Task Force. Sen. Kirk will serve alongside Lt. Governor Cagle and State Senators Tyler Harper, R-Ocilla, Steve Gooch, R-Dahlonega), John Wilkinson, R-Toccoa and Tonya Anderson, D-Lithonia.
“Georgia’s law enforcement community is composed of the best and brightest officers in the nation who put their lives on the line daily to keep us safe,” said Kirk. “It is time we return the favor by ensuring our officers are receiving the compensation and benefits they deserve for their selfless service to our state.”
“The service and dedication of our law enforcement officials is nothing short of heroic,” said the Lt. Governor. “We must make every effort to ensure local compensation packages are both competitive and fair to those who protect and serve. COPS will help local governments identify ways to maximize their support for the men and women who bravely protect our communities and neighborhoods.”
During the 2017 legislative session, Kirk sponsored three bills which made up a legislative package known as “Back the Badge.” These pieces of legislation sought to increase the compensation afforded to Georgia’s law enforcement community. Kirk also co-sponsored the fourth bill in the package, Sen. Tyler Harper’s “Back the Badge Act of 2017”, which increases the penalties for those convicted of attacking a public safety officer.
The COPS Task Force will bring Georgia’s legislators, law enforcement agencies and community partners together to address ways to increase officer retention, compare officer compensation and benefits with other states, as well as identify any unnecessary regulations keeping Georgia’s officers from performing their jobs as efficiently as possible. The Task Force will include staff from Association County Commissioners of Georgia, the Georgia Municipal Association, the Georgia Association of Chiefs of Police, and the Georgia Sheriffs Association.