ASHS track & field teams excel in Lagrange and Brookstone meets

Published 10:38 pm Monday, April 1, 2019

From Staff Reports


COLUMBUS – Both the Americus-Sumter boys and girls track & field teams posted solid performances at the Lagrange Invitational on Thursday, March 28, at Lagrange High School.

The boys’ team won the Lagrange Invitational with a total of 37 points. Keyvonte Nelson won the 200-Meter Dash with a time of 22.47 seconds. Jaylen Mable was the individual champion in the 400 and 800-Meter races. Rondravious Terry won the 1600-Meter race, and the 4×4 100-Meter Relay Team finished in first place.

The ASHS girls’ team turned in a solid performance as well. The 4×100-Meter Relay Team broke the ASHS school record with a time of 50.09 seconds, finishing in third place. Selliyah Owens continued to maintain her ASHS record holding status in the 400-Meter Dash with a time of 1:2.26. Owens finished in second place in the event.

L-R: Selliyah Owens (L) finished in second place in the Girls’ High Jump event at the Brookstone Invitational. Her teammate, Lakyra Waters (R), won the event.
Submitted Photo

Before their success in Lagrange, the Panthers and Lady Panthers excelled in Columbus at the Brookstone Invitational on Saturday, March 23, at the Brookstone School in Columbus. The girls’ team broke school records in this meet as well. Lakyra Waters tied the ASHS High Jump record with a height of 4’10 inches and finished as the champion in the event. Owens broke her own 400-Meter Dash record with a time of 1:02.26. She also broke her own record in the High Jump. Both Owens and Waters competed in a jump-off in the High Jump event, as they finished in a tie. Waters won the jump-off to take first place, while Owens finished in second place with a jump of 4’9.

Both the Panthers and Lady Panthers will compete in the Westover Relays on Friday, April 5, in Albany. The last home meet for both the ASHS girls’ and boys’ teams will be on Tuesday, April 9. It will be Senior Night for both the ASHS girls’ and boys’ teams. They will be competing against Dooly County, Schley County and Marion County.